If you own a motor vehicle that’s registered in Ohio and licensed for road use, you must have liability insurance on it, or another form of financial responsibility. It is against the law for you to allow someone to drive your car if you haven’t purchased liability insurance! In Ohio, “insurance follows the car”, meaning anyone you allow to drive your vehicle will be covered under your insurance policy.
The following explains what is required to be in compliance with the State of Ohio’s insurance requirements.
Ohio law requires “minimum” amounts of bodily injury liability and property damage liability to be in force as long as you own your vehicle. $25,000 per person and $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident is the bodily injury liability requirement. The required
minimum for property damage liability is $25,000 for damage to another person’s vehicle. This covers not only damage you would cause to another vehicle, but other property as well. This is known as $25,000/$50.000/$25,000 and by buying this, you will be cosidered “legal”. The insurance company you buy from will give you an insurance card proving you have insurance. Police usually ask to see proof of insurance if you’re pulled over, so it’s a good idea to keep your insurance card in the glove box.
Liability insurance protects you if you are responsible for injuring someone or damaging someone else’s property. We recommend buying as much liability protection as you can afford to. If you, or someone else driving your car are at-fault in a serious accident, you want to make certain you have enough liability insurance to pay the claim. If you don’t have enough coverage, you still may be responsible to the injured party, and to the owner of the property you’ve damaged.
There are many other coverage options to consider, but liability insurance is the only one that the state of Ohio requires you to purchase.